Changes abound. Changes afloat. Changes everywhere!

First and foremost, I am excited to tell you all that I am the new graphic designer for FashionGun.com! It was only last week I was on the phone with my mom and brother about how down I was feeling about the financial insecurities of my freelance photography and art career — mostly because money isn’t the driving force behind why I do what I love everyday. I just want to make pretty stuff, that’s all. But I know my obligations and responsibilities as a functional member of society cannot be ignored. Bills cannot pay themselves! I almost came to terms that it may be time to start the hunt for another 9-5 desk job. Almost. Then out of the blue, I saw that FashionGun was hiring a graphic designer. Two days later, I am part of THE greatest innovation in the fashion industry! This site will make project planning and networking more professional and efficient. Think ModelMayhem + LinkedIn + Facebook minus all the unnecessary, cumbersome clutter and creepy crawlers. Plus, it is created by actual people in the industry who know what it means to work with people in the industry. More on this later. In the meantime, I urge my industry friends to go and register on our site before our beta launch on June 1st!

The best part about this new change in my life? I’m doing exactly what I love to do.

I am also learning that change is not only inevitable, but infectious. More and more of my dear friends are taking the step to spend more time doing what they love to do — even if that means quitting their day job! This is never an easy thing for anyone to do, especially if you have a family to support or even if you’re unsure of where this change will lead. But that nervous, anxious, overwhelming feeling of uncertainty that never leaves you? It means you’re living. Just go with the flow, my friends.

Lastly, say hello to runway model Alejandra Soto. Below are some photos from her first ever photo shoot! Since change is the topic for tonight, I thought this was more than appropriate. :)

Makeup by: Emalyn Fumagao

This entry was posted in Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment